Foothills Music Teachers Association Monthly Meeting May 17, 2023

Davina Perret, President, opened the meeting at 9:33 a.m. at Lakewood School of Music with 7 members present.

Sue Brownson was appointed to be Secretary Pro Tem April minutes were approved and will be posted on the website.

Elinore Quander, Treasurer, was absent and will present her year end report to the Board in July.

Davina Perret gave the President's report and thanked fellow officers and chairs for their service to FMTA.

Davina Perret announced that the program today will be the annual May Musicale. Three Scholarship winners will be performing, along with FMTA teachers.

Davina Perret announced 2023-24 dates for FMTA events. Dates are listed in the Newsletter online.

Cares and Congrats: Katherine Lewis is doing better but is still in recovery mode. Membership: Renew dues by July 1st

Scholarship Chair Report-Laurie Brown announced the Scholarship Winners. Three scholarship winners this year: Sophie Justus, Sam Christensen, and Averi Lara

Sonatina Festival: Helen Gleason. Updates to follow on the website

Old Business:

Helen Gleason moved that "The position of Vice President of Publicity be deleted from FMTA Bylaws, Article IV Officers, Sections A and B IV." Discussion followed. Motion adopted.

New Business:

Sonatina Festival: There was an omission during the presentation of awards at the Sonatina Winners' Recital, and \$100 will be awarded to the Second Place winner in Class VI.

Officers for 2022-2023 were installed. Helen Gleason provided the installation program.

Announcements: Lunch will be at Jose O'Sheas, 385 Union Blvd. Lakewood.

PRP for next year - Atomic Habits by James Clear

CSMTA-Colorado State Music Teacher Association Conference at CSU Pueblo, June 2 &3

May 20th @ 1 p.m. -Ken Caryl Concerts presents the 1st place 2022 MTNA Young Artists Winner, Cezary Karwowski, performing a variety of pieces by French Composers. Location: St. Philip Lutheran Church, 7530 S. Kendall Blvd, Littleton CO 80128

Meeting adjourned, 10:13 a.m. Sue Brownson – Secretary Pro Tem