Foothills Music Teachers Association General Membership Meeting May 21, 2012 Home of Laura Rogers

President Kathy Hammer NCTM called the meeting to order at 9:40 AM. Nine members were in attendance. Linda Pott NCTM was appointed secretary pro tem.

The minutes of the April 2014 meeting were approved as posted on the FMTA website. Members were will be reminded to read the minutes when the notice for the next meeting is sent via email.

Treasurer, Gary Bishop, reported balances of Checking, \$2,874.09; Scholarship Savings, \$7,858.56; Savings CD, \$5,826.12.

President's Report: MTNA has been working with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) to be sure state and local associations do not engage in 'actions that could result in an unreasonable restraint of trade among its members'. To be sure the FMTA Bylaws and Standing Rules comply, a Bylaws Committee of Kathy Hammer, Elaine Van Dellen NTM, and Laura Rogers reviewed the FMTA documents to be certain they follow new guidelines set by MTNA, as required by the FTC. This committee found the FMTA does comply and a Certification affirming this has been sent to MTNA.

Membership Report: VP of Membership, Elaine Van Dellen, recommended that Kathleen Estes and Phyllis Pieffer be honored as "Lifetime Members" and that Nancy Kaesler's designation be changed from Honorary to Lifetime member". The Bylaws will be updated at the August meeting to reflect this Lifetime Membership category.

Elaine reminded members of the CSMTA dues assistance program, where members can receive financial help to pay the next year's dues on time, and then repay throughout the year. Local association presidents have this information.

An intermission featured Andrew Chao playing the 2nd and 3rd movements of Beethoven's "Waldstein" Piano sonata, Opus 53. He was awarded the Class VI Sonatina Festival trophy and a cash award.

Kathryn Lewis NCTM reminded members that annual renewals for MTNA re-certification can be done online.

LaVon Cooper reported there were no new applications for scholarships this year. Hannah Joy Blume has applied for a 2nd year scholarship.

Installation of the 2014-2015 Executive Board took place, presented by Phyllis Pieffer NCTM. She spoke of the role each member plays as a team player, who is inspired toward service for the purpose of elevating the arts and music in our community and society.

2013-2014 Officers and Chairs were thanked for their service this past year.

The meeting was followed by the Teacher Musicale and potluck.

Linda Pott NCTM, Secretary pro tem